Arthur H. Compton Award will go to BER Synchrotron Scientists


Andrzej Joachimiak and Gerold Rosenbaum are to receive the 2007 Advanced Photon Source (APS) Arthur H. Compton Award. Dr Joachimiak is director of the BER-funded Structural Biology Center (SBC) at Argonne National Laboratory, which is one of the most productive resources in the world for the determination of three-dimensional structures of proteins using x-ray crystallography. Dr Rosenbaum is associated with the SBC as well as the director for the Southeastern Regional Collaborative Access Team at the APS. The award is to be presented in recognition of their pioneering advances and leadership in establishing the APS as a premier location worldwide for protein crystallography research. It will be presented at the APS Users Meeting in May.